Short Story Sunday: The Bully

Posted: August 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

I often wondered what happened to some of the people who mercilessly bullied me in high school. Thanks to Facebook, I know about a lot of them. Some are still bullies, having taken their bullying skills into the adult workplace. Some are thugs and losers. Most are ordinary people, parents who have had to deal with the reality of school bullying through the eyes of their children. Some are remorseful for their shameful behavior and are now my Facebook friends. The internet is a magical thing…

Vampire Maman

The Bully

Sunday mornings on the deck with coffee, a cat purring in my lap, a dog at my feet and my beautiful family still asleep upstairs equals something good. It is all good.

Of course it wasn’t always that way. I think of my kids. I’ve done a lot to make sure they’re strong and secure. I make sure they’re not open to con artists and bullies. I made sure that they learned to stand up for the weak and those who are different.

So why am I musing on such lofty parenting goals? It is because their witty, confident, successful and good looking dad was once the kid who went to school in fear each day because of bullies. Nobody thought anything of bullies back then, when I was a kid. It was part of the school culture. But you know, even as a kid I knew it…

View original post 697 more words

Leave a Reply

