Beneath the Bed – a creepy poem

Posted: October 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

Published in the WPaD anthology ~ Creepies: Twisted Tales From Beneath the Bed

On sale for 99 cents through the month of October!

BENEATH THE BED

~ By Mandy White ~ creepiescover2

Something lurks beneath the bed

They say it’s all inside my head

But they haven’t seen its icy stare

Or felt its hot breath on their hair

The mirror reflects two sinister eyes

If I stare long enough they grow in size

If my breathing takes a pause

I hear the clitter-scratch of razor claws

I set my slippers on the floor

Ready to bolt toward the door

Suddenly the tile’s quicksand

My leg feels the scrape of a bony hand

I wake – a scream rips from my throat

My bed’s an island, my room a moat

In the inky depths it swims below

Waiting to gnaw on foot or toe

The door swings wide – the light could blind

I struggle against the straps that bind

Me tightly to this bed each night

To stop me from my panicked flight

Just another night in the loony bin

That’s what they call this place I’m in

The only way I’ll ever be free

Is to make peace with the beast in me

Copyright © 2012 Mandy White

Published in the WPaD anthology ~ Creepies: Twisted Tales From Beneath the Bed

On sale for 99 cents through the month of October!

Leave a Reply

